Small things, mostly

The island of mystery and magic (The Philippines)

Have you ever ended up in some place and never wanted to leave? It happened to me on a little island in the Philippines. I was in Siquijor, an island where every sunset is full of mystery and the sky is all shades of orange. This island has a tradition of witchcraft and magic. Some say spirits roam after dark.

Small things, mostly
The Siquijor bell tower

One afternoon I climbed a hill in the middle of the island. On top, I met some kids. They showed me the entrance to an underground cave they wanted to explore. I joined them. We entered the crevice that served as the mouth. We snaked through the narrow cave. Water flowed from crevices in the wall. Several times, we found ourselves wading through a stream. Twenty odd more minutes of squeezing, we found a chamber with a small underground pond.